Back to Racing News & Views
Jason Dull Wins Illini Main at Angell Park
 Jason Dull on his way to first Illini Midget win at Angell Park
Jason Dull on his way to first Illini Midget win at Angell Park
August 13th 2007 - Sun Prairie, WI (8/12/07) 
(Photo by Keenan Wright)

The Illini Racing Series returned to Angell Park for the second time in the club’s history and put on some great side by side racing.  The A-Main featured some classic duels, first with pole sitter Doug Orseske and outside front row starter Lamont Critchett going at it for several laps.  One of the other great battles was set up by heat race #1 winner Joe Knippel’s suspension failure, which brought out the caution, and the tow truck.

Jason Dull work his way around Orseske and Critchett, but had to contend with David Budres and Allen Gillis, the winner of the second heat.  Budres’ night came to a grinding halt against the turn one wall on lap 14 after the right front suspension collapsed.  He was uninjured.

This set up great match-up between Gillis and Dull.  Gillis’ non-SCREAM Ford Focus had plenty of power to swap the lead several times with “Double Duty Jason Dull”, who was running his car in both the Illini Division, then changing over to compete with the Badger Midgets.  Gillis slowed and pulled into the pits on lap 18 as Dull went on to take the checkers.

Illini Racing Series, Illini Midget Division Results from Angell Park August 12, 2007:

Heat #1 (10 laps):  1. Joe Knippel, Mokena, IL #33, Knippel Quad-4/Buzzard; 2.  David Budres, Beloit, WI #1, Spencer Quad-4/Eliis;  3.  Lamont Critchett, Chicago Heights, IL #44, Loran Critchett VW/Stapp; 4.  Dan George, Milwaukee, WI #82, George SCREAM Focus/Buzzard;  5.  Mark Morey, Sugar Grove, IL #3, Morey Focus/White;  6.  Sean Murphy, Evanston, IL #33x Knippel Quad-4/Ellis (DNF);  7.  Scott Koerner, Joliet, IL #4, Task Management Focus/Bishop (DNF)

Heat #2 (10 laps):  1.  Allen Gillis, Wetmont, IL #39, Gillis Focus/White;  2.  Jason Dull, Machesney Park #56, Dull Fontana/Stealth;  3.  Doug Orseske, Frankfort, IL #0, Orseske Quad-4/Buzzard;  4.  Mike Adams, Jr., Rockdale, WI #21A, Albert Chevy II/Mislich;  5.  Eddie Sauer, Davis, IL #74, Sauer Ford/Edmunds;  6.  Loran Critchett, Jr., Alsip, IL #17, Gass VW/Challenger;  7.  Mike Smith, Shorewood, IL #88, Smith Ford/Hawk (DNF);  8.  Joe Pantley, Beaver Dam, WI #2, Peterson Chevy II/Outhouse (DNF);  9.  Frank Reiss, Genoa

A-Main (20 laps):  1.  Dull, 2.  Lamont Critchett, 3.  Orseske, 4.  Koerner, 5.  Sauer, 6.  Adams, 7.  George, 8.  Loran Critchett,  Jr., 9.  Morey, 10.  Gillis (DNF), 11.  Budres (DNF), 12.  Knippel (DNF), 13.  Smith (DNF), Murphy (DNS), Pantley (DNS), Reiss (DNS).

Top Ten in Points:  1. Lamont Critchett-1596, 2.  Doug Orseske-1523, 3.  Dan George- 1304, 4.  Joe Knippel-1248, 5.  Basil Hicks-1198, 6.  Scott Koerner-1176, 7.  Mark Morey-1120, Loran Critchett, Jr.-1041, Sean Murphy-1031, Eddie Sauer-951.