Back to Racing News & Views
BPS would Like to Congratulate Trevor
BPS File photo by Burzy, 2007 Brickyard
BPS File photo by Burzy, 2007 Brickyard
February 20th 2011 - This win for Trevor Bayne, the Wood Brothers, and Ford, is really good for NASCAR. Way to go Trev!- BRONCO and BURZY

RACE and links

Trevor Bayne wins the Daytona 500: in what has to be one of the biggest upsets in NASCAR history, 20-year old #21-Trevor Bayne won the 2011 Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on the 2nd green-white-checkered finish. It is Bayne's 1st career NASCAR Sprint Cup win in only his 2nd start [ties a record with Jamie McMurray]. The famed Wood Brothers Racing team won their 5th Daytona 500, 15th overall at Daytona and 98th Sprint Cup race. It is the Wood Brothers first win since Elliott Sadler won for them at Bristol in March of 2001. Bayne is the youngest winner ever of the Daytona 500 at 20 years, 1 day old. The win is Ford's 60th win for the manuafacturer. #99-Edwards finished 2nd followed by #34-Gilliland [the best finish ever for Front Row Motorsports], #47-BLabonte, #22-Busch, #42-Montoya, #78-Smith [best career finish], #18-Busch, #27-Menard and #5-Martin [was 3 laps down at one point]. Pole sitter #88-Earnhardt Jr, wrecked late and finished 24th. 2010 Sprint Cup Champ, #48-Jimmie Johnson was involved in 'the big one' on lap 28 and finished 27th after the team made repairs, finishing 19 laps down.
There were a record 74 lead changes among 22 record leaders with a record 16 cautions for 60 laps.
See race results, awards and more on the Daytona Race Results page.(2-20-2011)

Record-Setting Day At The Daytona 500: The 53rd running of the Daytona 500, the first on the brand-new racing surface at Daytona International Speedway, featured a track-record 74 lead changes and 22 leaders. The lead-change record was especially noteworthy, considering the previous mark lasted more than three decades. The prior lead change mark was 60, set in the 1974 Daytona 500.
For the second consecutive year, the record for different leaders fell. In last year's 500, 21 different drivers led. Additionally, there were 16 cautions, a track record. The 60 caution laps tied a record at Daytona. Sunday's Daytona 500 continued a record-breaking Speedweeks trend. Last Saturday night, the Budweiser Shootout featured a record-breaking 28 lead changes.
Records also were broken in each of Thursday's two Gatorade Duel races. The first Duel race had a record 20 lead changes. That mark was immediately broken in the second Duel event, which had 22 lead changes.
Trevor Bayne, who became the youngest Daytona 500 winner (20 years, one day), led the final six laps. He gave the Wood Brothers organization its fifth Daytona 500 win. The Woods' last victory came in 1976 with NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee David Pearson beating Richard Petty in a legendary last-lap battle. Bayne became the seventh driver to earn his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory in the Daytona 500.(NASCAR)(2-20-2011)

Points Note: This was the first race under NASCAR's new points system. Because #21-Trevor Bayne is racing the for the Nationwide Series points championship, he did not earn any Sprint Cup points for the victory. #99-Carl Edwards is now the points leader with 42 points.(Sporting News), the Wood Brothers still get owners points and lead the Owners Points standings.(2-20-2011)

Race Fast Facts - Daytona International Speedway:
Trevor Bayne won the 53rd Annual Daytona 500, his first victory in only his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race. Bayne is the youngest Daytona 500 winner in history (20 years, one day).
This is team owner Wood Brothers' fifth Daytona 500 victory, the last coming in 1976 with David Pearson. It is their 98th series win overall.
Bayne is the seventh driver to earn his first points win in the Daytona 500 (Tiny Lund, 1963; Mario Andretti, 1967; Pete Hamilton, 1970; Derrike Cope, 1990; Sterling Marlin, 1994; Michael Waltrip, 2001).
There were track records in lead changes (74), leaders (22) and cautions (16).
The victory is Ford's 600th win.
Carl Edwards (second) posted his sixth top-10 finish in 13 races at Daytona International Speedway. It is his first top-10 finish in 2011.
David Gilliland (third) posted his second top-10 finish in six races at Daytona International Speedway.
Because Bayne has chosen to earn championship points in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, Carl Edwards now leads the points standings by one point over David Gilliland.(NASCAR Statistics)(2-20-2011)

Daytona Notes-n-Nuggets:
* Trevor Bayne became the youngest winner of the Daytona 500.
* Trevor Bayne is the second-youngest driver (20 years, 1 day) to win a Sprint Cup race -- Joey Logano was 19 years, 1 month, 4 days when he won at New Hampshire in June 2009.
* Trevor Bayne is the second driver to win the Daytona 500 in his first start; Lee Petty won the inaugural event in 1959.
* Trevor Bayne is the seventh driver to get his first Sprint Cup vcitory in the Daytona 500 -- Tiny Lund (1963), Mario Andretti (1967), Pete Hamilton (1970), Derrike Cope (1990), Sterling Marlin (1994) and Michael Waltrip (2001).
* The past six 500s have been won by first-time 500 victors; Jeff Gordon in 2005 is the most recent repeat winner.
* This was the 98th Cup victory for the Wood Brothers; the team's last win came at Bristol in March 2001 with Elliott Sadler.
* The race set records for leaders (22), lead changes (74), cautions (16) and tied the record for caution laps (60).
* Carl Edwards (second) earned his best Daytona 500 finish in his seventh start.
* David Gilliland (third) picked up his third Cup Series top-five finish in his 151st start.
* Bobby Labonte (fourth) earned his best finish since comign home third at Martinsville in Oct. 2006.
* Regan Smith (seventh) had his career-best finish in his 96th start.
* Paul Menard (ninth) earned his ninth top-10 finish in his 148th start.
* Bill Elliott (12th) had his best finish since also finishing 12th in the 2008 race at Homestead-Miami Speedway.
* Jimmie Johnson (27th) has finished 27th or worse in the six Daytona 500s since he won in 2006.
* This was the fifth 500 to end under a green-white-checkered finish and the second consecutive 500 in which the race went 208 laps.(Sporting News)(2-20-2011)

Rookie Returns Wood Brothers to Victory Lane After Advice from Hall of Famer: Statement from 2011 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee David Pearson;
2011 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee David Pearson met Trevor Bayne this morning prior to the start of the Daytona 500. Hours later, Bayne, a 20-year-old rookie, sent the Wood Brothers to Victory Lane in the Great American Race. In 1976, Pearson took the same team to Victory Lane in the Daytona 500. Bayne's famed #21 carried decals honoring David Pearson for his Hall of Fame Induction. Pearson left the track shortly after the race started to drive home to South Carolina.

David Pearson: "Yeah, I was listening to it on the radio in the car. That's good. I'm proud of them. I figured they had a chance after seeing that boy race in the 150s (Gatorade Duel). I talked to him (Bayne) this morning. I told him to keep his head straight and not to do anything crazy. I told him to stay relaxed. That's the thing; stay relaxed. I knew he would because he was relaxed in the qualifier. I'm proud of him. I don't understand what has taken them so long to return to Victory Lane. The car has always been capable."(NASCAR)(2-20-2011)

Unofficial Results for the 2011 Daytona 500:
pos, car#-driver, manu, out/if, points
1) #21-Bayne, Ford, ZERO drivers points
2) #99-Edwards, Ford, 42
3) #34-Gilliland, Ford, 41
4) #47-BLabonte, Toyota, 41
5) #22-Busch, Dodge, 39
6) #42-Montoya, Chevy, 39
7) #78-Smith, Chevy, 38
8) #18-Busch, Toyota, 37
9) #27-Menard, Chevy, 36
10) #5-Martin, Chevy, 34

Further Resources: